Bullingdon Boy Boris Johnson maintains Lead in Race for Leadership

The Bullingdon club of ‘87 with Mr Cameron and Boris Johnson

Dominic Raab knocked out of Tory leadership race

Former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson continues to lead the field with 126 votes among MPs.

Former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab was knocked out of the race to be the next leader of the Conservative Party following a vote by Tory MPs this evening.

Boris Johnson, who has committed to leaving the European Union on October 31 with or without a deal, continued to lead the field, securing more support and the backing of 126 MPs. His tally was 12 more than the 114 he secured in last week’s ballot.

His main challenger in second place is Jeremy Hunt, who received the support of 46 MPs.

Tory MPs will hold further votes tomorrow and Thursday to whittle down the candidates until two remain. They will be put to the 160,000-strong Conservative Party membership for a final decision, which is due to be announced in the week commencing July 22.

The candidates were required to secure the backing of 33 Tory MPs to make it to the next round. In the subsequent rounds it will be the candidate with the least support who is eliminated.

The results for the other candidates were Michael Gove 41 votes; Rory Stewart 37 votes; Sajid Javid 33 votes; and Dominic Raab 30 votes.

Support Labour Heartlands



This is a "Pay as You Feel" website.
This blog has no source of state, corporate or institutional finance whatsoever. It runs entirely on voluntary subscriptions from its readers – many of whom do not necessarily agree with every article, but welcome the alternative voice, insider information and debate.
You can have access to all of our online work for free. However if you want to support what we do, you could make a small donation to help us keep writing and staying ad-free.
The choice is entirely yours.